Thursday, January 19, 2012

Food Allergy News: New Allergy-Friendly Valentine's Day Candy from Surf Sweets

With Valentine's Day just around the corner, I am thrilled to be able to tell you about an all-new, allergy-friendly and organic treat--Surf Sweets Fruity Hearts! These sweet little heart-shaped gummy candies are certified organic watermelon and cherry heart-shaped gummies. I think they're perfect to share with your kids, their classmates and friends. Plus, they are a cute and festive decoration for a home-baked cupcake.

As you know, it's a difficult prospect to decipher food labels on Valentine's Day candy in order to find nut-free but delicious items kids will enjoy eating and receiving (and don't forget about adults--I love these things!). I like to support companies like Surf Sweets because they take all the guesswork out of it for me. I need nut-free and no question, these are nut-free, made in a free-from facility. Kind of makes things simpler, doesn't it?

Surf Sweets Fruity Hearts are made right here in the Chicago area with real organic fruit juice, fortified with antioxidant Vitamin C, and they’re allergy friendly, gluten free and vegan. Fruity Hearts are also free of corn syrup, synthetic dyes, and artificial flavors.

All Surf Sweets candies are gluten free; dairy and casein free; allergy friendly, meaning that they contain none of the most common food allergens (wheat, dairy, peanuts, tree nuts, egg, soy, fish, shellfish); and Feingold approved. Surf Sweets candies are produced and packaged in a dedicated nut-free facility.

Most Surf Sweets candies are currently available in mainstream grocery and natural foods stores, online, and at specialty retailers throughout the U.S. and Canada. For more information on store locations, visit the Surf Sweets website where you can also order online.

I'll have more info on my favorite nut-free chocolates for V-Day in an upcoming post!

1 comment:

Anonymous said...

Thank you for this. So helpful.

Last Halloween it took me 3 days to track down the nature of "natural flavors"
listed in Halloween candy. I should note, I really appreciated the fact that the company involved did get back to me, but it took them 3 days to figure out why the item number on the bar code didn't agree with the name on the package and find out from their subsidiary what the ingredients actually were.

I never gave my allergic kid that candy, because, really, after all that how can you trust the company?